Early Years

What is Early Years Foundation Stage?

In EYFS, we strongly believe in the importance of practical, child-led learning, enabling children to investigate the world around them, ask questions and being there to help them to extend their skills, knowledge and understanding. We would like a child’s early experience of school to be that of joy, excitement and positive memories, the time that initiated a love of stories, early maths skills and pleasure of celebrating their individual achievements.

In September 2014 the Department for Education introduced a new Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum. This is statutory for all early years children and education providers. At our school EYFS is Reception. The EYFS framework is  for child development from birth to the end of Reception Year of primary school. There are seven themes within the EYFS framework.

  • Communications and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Arts and Design

These seven themes are used to underpin the learning and development that your child will experience during their time in the EYFS. Children learn in many different ways: watching others, talking, asking questions, listening, exploring and investigating.

Play is the foundation of development and learning for young children and your child will continue to learn through play throughout reception.

Reception C&L Progression

Reception Expressive Art and Design Progression

Reception Literacy Progression

Reception Maths Progression

Reception Physical Development Progression

Reception PSED Progression

Reception Understanding the World Progression