Governance

The Vine Schools Trust is a multi-academy trust and is the accountable body for all twenty three of its schools. Therefore, the overarching responsibility for the governance of the Trust and its schools lies with the Vine Board of Directors.  They fulfil the three core functions of governance:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.

To enable the Directors to fulfil their responsibility eight regional Local Schools Board’s work on their behalf and undertake delegated local governance of between two and four schools.  Community Boards in each school enable local support and provide information to enable good governance.

The key principle is that all three Boards together with Executive Leaders will provide an aspect of governance the other cannot as set out in this chart.

This model of governance is undertaken under delegated responsibility. For full details see below.

South Essex Board

MEMBERS ROLE CONTACT
Charlotte Little Chair charlotte.little@dcvst.org
Gemma Smith HT gemma.smith@dcvst.org
Sally Finch HT sally.finch@dcvst.org
Belynda Fellows Vine HT belynda.fellows@dcvst.org
Laurie Eve laurie.eve@dcvst.org
Rev David Ibiayo david.ibiayo@dcvst.org
Catherine Stalham head@wintergardensacademy.org
Sarah Lonsdale sarah.lonsdale@dcvst.org
Hanli Bouwer hanli.bouwer@dcvst.org
Elizabeth Murphy Juniper Clerk elizabeth.murphy@junipereducation.org

Governance Information